6 comments on “Privacy in the 21st Century

  1. I understand the concern for privacy but I sometimes think some people take it too far. I am pretty open about my life on my blog but there are things that I keep out of my blog out of respect for the privacy of my friends and family and my own privacy of course. That is easy enough to do. But I think that sometimes we get so concerned with privacy that we paralyze ourselves into a rabbit hole and that’s not good is it? A good example, look at Romney. Then look at Obama. Which is preferable? I prefer the openness of an Obama rather than the secrecy of a Romney or Cheney. I always think when someone is that private they are hiding something which is usually the case.

    Nice blog by the way.

    • Thanks for the compliment. I admit I am finding the privacy issue easier to manage than I’d feared. I had a bit of an epiphany recently in a note from a friend about the difference between being ‘honest’ and being ‘revealing’ on the blog. I’m still a newbie. I’m sure I will confront some comfort zone boundaries but it’s better to deal with them as they arise than to wring my hands in anxiety in advance.

  2. If anyone knows where to look and digs deep and hard enough, they’ll find what they want to know about you. Privacy is relative. Even if you weren’t “online”, there’s all the transactions made with your bankcard which are attached to your bank account which is attached to your social security number that are tracked and analyzed by, well, all sorts of companies. Knowing that hasn’t made me go use cash again. Nor has knowing how to look up information about individuals make me want to go “under the radar” either. It’s a trade-off: accept what technology can offer, or step back in time before technology existed. Which I don’t think is possible any more. Even if you attempt to go under the radar, your friends and family still have enough links out there to expose you back to the radar.

    I, for one, welcome our computer overlords.

    • Thanks for the comment. All good points. There are times I wax romantic about the days before the rise of info-tech. But then I spend a day or two without internet access on my iPhone and I feel like I’m trying to re-discover fire. Can’t enjoy the benefits without paying the price.

      • It’s amazing how we–as a society–have become so dependent on a little piece of technology that does so much for us it creates anxiety in us when we don’t have it.

Leave a Reply

