14 comments on “Never Argue With Serendipity

    • It was interesting to read about him. Sinatra was a gifted singer but not much of an actor. Lawford always seemed more likeable to me. The last few years of his life were quite sad.

    • It is an odd quote. There is actually a little more to it when she add ‘that he’s not like so-and-so’ who was a gay choreogrpaher she knew, liked very much, and was not threatened by. She didn’t seem to think that all gay were a threat but she definitely felt he was.

  1. Like many of the stars of the 40’s and 50’s, I know them mostly by name through I Love Lucy. It’s always a kinda thrill to put the face and movie(s) with her obsessions.

    • I remember seeng him on Laugh-in when I was a kid. I now realize that was about the same time he was married to the host’s daughter who was less than half his age. I wonder what their relationship was like.

  2. well, I like your “my fair lady” quote in the first paragraph.

    and I learned something about peter lawford. like he cannot sing. and sinatra was a bastard.

    please do continue about your ancestor photos! smooches!

  3. Ptere Lawford was, to me, one of those oddities of being a big-name actor whose features could be immediately forgotten after he’d gone off screen. Even now if I saw a photo of him I doubt if I could say with confidence who it was.

  4. I started off life with “If you can’t say somethin’ nice, then don’t say nothin’ at all” (Thumper in ‘Bambi’) and ended up with “If you haven’t got anything nice to say about anybody, come sit next to me” (Alice Roosevelt Longworth). That ‘Age of Aquarius’ video is surely one of the saddest and tackiest things ever to have soiled my eardrums and retinas. Poor Peter.

    • Hugh Hefner let him live in a guest house at the Playboy Mansion for a time; Maybe that was supposed to be “art” imitating life. I thought that video really showed where his career went…. I thought it was quite sad.

  5. You’re barking up my tree now. My favorite reading is biographies of celebrities, and others connected with the Golden Age of Hollywood. Right now I am reading a biography of Billy Wilder, one of the greatest directors ever. Yesterday I read about the backstory of “Double Indemnity”, perhaps the greatest film noir movie ever.
    You have me hooked now. 🙂

  6. I remember Peter. Probably from Hollywood Squares more than anything. He lived a sad life. I think I would have been afraid of him too. And that video is horrific!

Leave a Reply

