12 comments on “From Here To Eternity

  1. I read the book before I saw the movie. I loved both. What surprised me was how effective Ernest Borgnine was as a villain. Prior to seeing this movie the only way I saw Ernest was in “McHale’s Navy.” Everything about the movie “From Here To Eternity” was excellent.

  2. I think that the sheer erotic nature of the kiss scene and the sea rushing in was the incredible draw at the time. This was very risqué for the 1950’s.

  3. I notice that the male and female in the two pictures are reversed in them with the female on top in the movie still and your father in the snapshot. Probably no significance but I just noticed that. I did not see the two purses.

    • I noticed that as well. Of course we have the advantage of seeing the photo…actually probably seen it many times. At that point they would have been working from memory after having only seen the movie a time or two…at least that’s my theory.

  4. This is just one of the MANY ‘classic’ films that have passed me by.
    (Incredible as it may seem, I’ve never even seen ‘The African Queen’ although it’s been on telly half a dozen times a week since the year ‘dot’. At least that what it seems like.)
    ‘Eternity’ has always been highly thought of by all and sundry.
    Obviously a lot of catching-up to do!

      • “Ta” for that, H.K. I’ll act on your answer – though I thought you would have been more likely to have gone for ‘Eternity’.

        Btw: Hope you’re going to re-post your ‘next’ blog (‘The Play that Changed my Life’). It was so tantalising to be able to read your first words, only to find that the full page isn’t available. This subject in particular is right up my street!

      • African Queen is a much better movie; and I’ve seen FHTE a dozen times 🙂

        Thanks re: ‘Play..’ Still learning my way around WordPress and the interaction between phone and pc. Looking forward to finishing it but didn’t intend to publish the draft.

  5. Out of the many classic films I have seen, From Here to Eternity has not been viewed yet. It sounds like a good film. When I first saw the photo, the only thing I knew of the film was that beach scene. They did a nice representation.

Leave a Reply

