11 comments on “Wilma Wallace – the Search Continues

  1. Oh you’re in my favorite area here Harper’s dad! I love these family mysteries. All families have them, including mine. Again, you have given me another idea for several future blog postings. My first family mystery that I want to air is “Uncle Alfred Hickman.” I’ll leave the tease there. Keep checking Ancestry.com, you’ll be surprised at how much you can find. You may have to dig for information from several different angles. Don’t only rely on the “leaves”. Check the census records and death certificates. Good luck!

    Ron

  2. I saw this photo on a blog somewhere and thought of you since you’ve been blogging about your collection of old photos.. I thought it was an interesting way to display photos.

  3. My grandmother “went away” for a year, before I was born in the 1950’s. I recently found the photos in the family album from then. She had TB and was sent to the mountains, to the hospital in Charlottesville, VA. Thank goodness by then they had cultured it and were using drugs to fight the bacteria too.

    I have fallen in love with your Wilma. She may have died too young but she seemed to pack alot of wanderlust into her short life. I found Wilma’s headstone too……if I ever go to that city/state I’ll have to visit her and raise a glass of champagne to her. I sort of think she’d like that. 😉

  4. She sounds fabulous, living life on her own terms, i guess.
    I have always been fascinated by the “stories” we’re told about our long-gone relatives and how different they are from the truth.
    I adore Wilma.

Leave a Reply

