25 comments on ““Why Can’t Those People Just Keep It To Themselves?”

  1. If you can’t live openly, out in the open, are your REALLY living?
    Coming out is for the best, and for the betterment of all.

  2. In the words of my beloved, eccentric, and very supportive Granny, “Honey, you done said a mouthful!” 🙂

  3. I am very proud and glad when a person has the courage to come out and stop pretending to be something they’re not, just to make narrow minded people comfortable with the status quo. I have known people who are much happier and more comfortable in their own skin once they say out loud “this is who I really am, accept me and love me for it” To quote Lady Gaga “you were born this way” and no one should have the right to say what is or is not acceptable in terms of who you love and become committed to. This is a good day.

  4. I firmly believe that the ONLY way to defeat homophobia is for EVERYONE to come out. You can have all your gay pride parades with gays dressed as nuns on roller skates and leather thonged leather queens but those self indulgent camp exercises will never change straight’s views of gays. I came out because I wasn’t going to live a life of a lie. I wasn’t going to let straights control my life and tell me how to live it. I came out when I was 21 years old (1963), way before coming out was cool. Was it scary? Sure, but I had no other choice. If you can’t be true to yourself, who can you be true to. The three years I was in the Army (with a top secret clearance working for the NSA) I had to live a lie or else I would be kicked out of the Army. Once I got out, I was free which is how I’ve felt ever since that day I came out to EVERYONE in 1963.

  5. “There is just one life for each of us: our own.” –Euripides

    I think each of us living our daily lives and being ourselves is the greatest way to show people around us that we are just as human as they are and that there is nothing wrong with “us”.

  6. Great post. For me, the idea of coming out has always been a personal one. It takes courage to stand up and tell others what they may not want to hear, especially when it’s a truth.

  7. I agree with what you say here, but in my red neck part of the woods it’s not safe to be fully out of the closet. I am not hiding but I don’t parade it in front of everyone. I let them draw their own conclusions and wihisper behind my back. If they confront me though, I don’t deny it. I think for a lot of these people they would rather not know me that well anyway. It’s bad enough that I am a Democrat.

  8. As a child in the south of segregation I had black friends. As a teen in a catholic school I questioned authority and pushed boundaries….and in college(an all women’s college by the way) I hung out with the theater and art crowd. I spent summers and years after college in the theater world and have lost more than a few friends to AIDS. I also married into a family that has an interracial couple.
    I’ve never personally cared what color someone’s skin was, what god they worshiped or didn’t or whom they wanted to sleep with or marry.
    That made me unpopular with some, but that really doesn’t matter to me.

    None of that should matter.
    The outer trappings are just packaging.
    I’m coming out today as a hater……a hater of hatin’!

    I have never understood what all the fuss was by all the adults in my life about the stuff that makes us different from one another. Why do they always use it to divide us and to preach hate?
    Maybe I was just too stupid to “get it”? After all, I was just a dumb girl…. lol

    I try to look beyond what makes us different and find what makes us one in the same.
    I grew up around prejudice of one type or another.

    I tried to raise my kids in a much better way and around much better attitudes toward outer differences. I can tell you that the world they inhabited as kids was better than mine.
    I’m hoping that by the time my kids set out on their journey to raise up the next generation that these kids will grow up in a world I couldn’t even begin to hope for when I was a child back in the south in the 1960’s.
    We’ve come a long way baby, to quote a famous cigarette commercial……but we’ve got a long way still to go. 😉

  9. Welp. Altruism and self-interest are too often seen as dramatically different things. But, it’s a small extension to go from “if someone else had done this, it would have been easier for me” to “if I do this, it will be easier for someone else”.

    I was scared to death of coming out. Some of my friends were rather homophobic. They aren’t, now. They could see the difference between the reality and the caricature. It was a little rough while they got used to the idea but, I wish I’d started sooner…

    Still, you do what you can, when you can. And I’ve been blessed with good friends.

  10. Pingback: The Year in Review | Harper's Valley

  11. Pingback: Preaching to the Choir – National Coming Out Day | Harper's Valley

Leave a Reply

