12 comments on “Otis Sumner

  1. It must so exciting for you discovering all these things, things old but new to you. When my father’s family were kicked out from Turkey over a century ago at the countries’ exchange of population, they didn’t have the chance to pack any stuff with them and lots of things and family history were lost… 😦

  2. You have inspired me and I had my nephew bring up a box of albums from the basement (I never go down there) and I found some interesting things. Including an envelope marked Jay which I am about to go through. Also found my baby booties and birth announcement. Such fun,

  3. Aren’t the census records on Ancestry.com so very interesting? Recently they added the 1940 census. I got a kick out of checking my hometown’s census and seeing many of my high school teachers as children listed in their homes at that time. Funny thing about that, I never thought of Miss Hurlock or Mr. Kipp as 10 and 12 year old children.

  4. Thank you for sharing this. I’m really interested in the part about her first husband being the love of her life. How did you find that out? How was he killed? I really like the handwritten part of the postcard. For some reason to me that’s a real intimate connection, even more so than having more factual information.

    I bought a very old “To My Valentine” postcard in an antique store. It’s addressed but not mailed. In the message part it says, “Dear cousin, It is awful lonesome since May died.” I have no idea who John Compton, the sender, was. But I get a lump in my throat every time I look at it.

    • Thanks for your interest. My grandmother spoke quite openly about her feelings for her first husband and relative lack of feelings for my grandfather. In fairness to her, both were long dead before these conversations took place. I wrote a post that touched on it about a month ago called “My Grandmother’s Boys“.

  5. I am certainly enjoying your journey with these old photographs. These posts have made me reflect on a disparity in my life, my own fascination with ‘family past’ while having virtually no current knowledge of part of ‘family present’. Though I have contact with cousins on my mother’s side of the family, none really at all with those on my father’s side. All so far-flung, I have no idea ‘who’ they are anymore, or what their lives might be at this stage of life.

    • Thanks for reading/commenting. Haven’t seen you around the blogosphere much of late. Hope all is well.

      Similar situation here. My father had a large family but I have had virtually no contact with any of them since I was a child (when my parents divorced). My mother’s family was much smaller. There are some cousins but haven’t been in contact with any of them in decades so not even sure who is still living.

Leave a Reply

