13 comments on “Anna Karenina

  1. While I usually dislike seeing a movie before I read the book, this film inspired me to finally get a copy of the book and give it a try. I am curious to see what Tolstoy wrote compared to the film Anna.

  2. A friend of mine who is on BBC 4 in London on the Art desk panned this film. Too modern and not in keeping with Tolstoy’s idea of this story. Are they trying to modernize the story? It’s a classic you take it for what it is or you just leave it. There is also a need to understand the end of Tsarist Russia and how society was then. Seeing it as it was and not as we would like it to be.

  3. I love bonnet movies. That’s what my niece called my collection of tapes/DVD’s sighting few contempory themed films. I prefer to call them period dramas but at any rate, thanks for the heads up. I enjoyed your observations. I’m looking forward to see this one and Lincoln as well this holiday season.

  4. Delighted that you liked this film as much as I did (in my own posting of 13 Sept – which you saw and remarked upon). Very little to add or to comment on in what you say.
    Although I do greatly admire the novel, having read it 4 or 5 times in more than one translation, I personally think that W & P is an even greater work though, of course, their focus is entirely different, ‘Anna’ rarely straying outside that character’s world and her own perspectives, while ‘War’ is multi-perspective on individual, national and even global scales.
    I don’t think you’ll find anything in the book that jars too violently with your memory of this excellent film – certainly not in the characters as portrayed on screen, at least to my mind. Stoppard has made a more than creditable achievement in condensing the drama down to a screenplay of a couple of hours.
    Do let is know what you think of the book.

    Never knew that ‘Anna’ had been made into a musical. I suppose the story-line would be ideal for that purpose – though with hardly any room for up-tempo songs! ‘War and Peace’ was, most famously, made into an opera by Prokofiev, lasting some 5 hours (from my memory), and almost exclusively concentrating on the domestic elements of the story.

    • I remember your post. I’d been eagerly awaiting the movie. It is still only in limited release here.

      I read a note in Wikipedia that Tolstoy considered AK his first novel because he came to regard W&P as more than that. Not sure what that means but it supports your comments.

      I’ve never saw nor heard the 1992 AK musical. It was not successful. I know of it only because, years ago, I heard a “Forbidden Broadway” parody of it. Unfortunately I lost that recording when splitting things up with a former partner. The parts I recall were funny but would require a “spoiler alert”. It was done to the tune of the old train song “The Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe” so you can imagine the content.

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. I was looking forward to seeing this film since reading Ray’s review of it a couple of months ago. But now that it is finally playing here in the U.S., and upon reading your review, I lost interest in paying top dollar to see it in a theater. This will be a future DVD rental. Why? So I can stop it and rewind as needed. Considering I don’t have an inkling of what the story is about, I suppose a DVD viewing is the best course for me.

  6. I have read thousands of books in my 71 years, many lterary masterpieces (some I liked and some not) but like you, I have never read Anna Karenina. I will now. And I will definitely see this movie after reading your review. I am intrigued. 🙂

  7. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a bit reluctant to watch the movie because of Knightley. I’m not a great fan of hers and I respect Tolstoy too much for that. Maybe I am wrong though and I should give her a chance. I’m glad you liked it. I’m thinking of first reading the book…

Leave a Reply

