19 comments on “Easter

  1. No hardboiled Easter eggs at our house. My mother taught us how to poke a pin hole in either end of the egg and blow it out. Then we’d decorate. Very elegant. Being Jewish, my mother didn’t go to church Easter week; I guess that gave her more time to refine her Easter eggs.

    • We learned how to blow out eggs in school but, for some reason, never did it at home. I woould have enjoyed it more. There would also be ore options for using the contents as well. Thanks for your comment

  2. A very interesting post which brought back long forgotten memories of my Southern Baptist upbringing (I knew we had something in common). My youngest brother is now a Southern Baptist Evangelical care pastor of a humongous Baptist Church in Greenville, SC. Those Sunday services go on ALL DAY, ending Sunday evening with a giant pot luck of all kinds of goodies. Not many skinnies in that church, including him (who will never read this comment). I always liked Easter because it is the colorful harbinger of spring with all the wonderful pastel colors after the monochrome winter. Just today I planted a couple dozen more bright yellow daffodils outside to add to the Yellow Explosion in our backyard. Easter = rebirth. Happy Easter! 🙂
    Retired in Delaware

  3. let’s see, we have marshmallow peeps (made in a factory 1 hour away from me!), chocolate bunnies, stuffed bunnies, rubber duckies, turtles, and plastic eggs. I hate hard boiled eggs too; I chuck the yolk and eat the whites (better for you anyway). LOVE the peep garnish on the fruity drink! and I join you in the ACHOOs of the season!

    “We learned how to blow out eggs in school” – heh heh heh, you said “blow” 😉

  4. I have been debating what to write about concerning Easter and my conflicted beliefs about church, denomination, faith and all that “those people” do to tear down us gays. My day was much like yours; memories, mostly good ones, of family, church, singing (also Southern Baptist), dressing up (don’t remember the plaid jackets, but always new dress clothes). Thanks for a post that helped focus them a bit.
    Peace ❤
    Jay

  5. Am I the only Methodist in the group? Well, I used to be Methodist (later, United Methodist), but I have given up on all the religion stuff — yes, I said stuff, because that is what it is. I always got new clothes too at the Young Men’s Shop. I remember all the traditional stuff too (yes, we had cherries in the center of the pineapple rings), church filled to overflowing, and pipe organs and anthems. I do love everything played on the pipe organ, especially Bach. Sometimes it was a trip to Grandma’s house (which is now my Lady Slipper Cove farm) with lots of food. I was chubby too as a kid (had to wear “stout” sizes). Grandma said that I wasn’t fat, just “fleshy.” And fleshy was equated with healthy!

    • Thanks for your comment. There was an organ at Calvary Baptist Church but, to my knowledge, no one ever played Bach on it. “Stout” made me smile. The synonyn/euphemism I recall was “husky”. 🙂

  6. As young kids the nuns at school told us, in all seriousness, that on the first Easter Sunday the sun actually “danced with joy”. Now THAT would have been worth witnessing, not to say highly perilous to the Earth and other planets!

      • Could be, H.K. But whether it was a waltz, a tango or a paso doble, we weren’t informed. Perhaps one of them was doing the ‘twist’!

  7. We’ve always viewed Easter as a chance for the entire family to get together, pig out, then fall asleep in front of the TV.

  8. I believe you misspoke re:Judy Garland. Didn’t you mean to say that given the Holiday and your photos of your Easter baskets that this version of the song by Miss Garland is more in keeping with the Holiday, given that Judy is an icon to your peeps……teehee

  9. Having been raised in the Jehovah’s Witness faith, I didn’t celebrate Easter nor any other holiday until I left that faith in an attempt to actually have faith. Now my Easters are more like yours, a secular holiday that is more about chocolate candy and ham than Christian observances. And I’m completely fine with that.

Leave a Reply

