20 comments on “Director’s Choice

  1. Very culturally deprived here in “Lower Slower”, aka southern Delaware. We have Clear Space Productions which is a local theater company (run by a friend of mine who I would like you to meet) but nothing on the scale that you enjoy in Phoenix. Oh, then there ‘s “The Diva’s” drag show at the Blue Moon in Rehoboth. Bet you don’t have anything like that in Phoenix.

    Ron

  2. You know I don’t actually know. I know there are drag shows because I see the ads for them in the local gay ‘rags’ but I can’t recall having ever been to one here.

    This weekend is Phoenix Pride so I suspect some of the Mr Sisters will be out and about.

      • No specific plans. The Phoenix event is quite large but I still have a mental block that Pride should be in the summer. Obviously that would be impossible here but, since moving to AZ we’ve gone to Pride in Flagstaff more often than in Phx. It is much smaller but it is in June and a nice excuse for a trip up out of the heat.

    • Believe it or not I’ve never seen a drag show here in Rehoboth. They have them all the time, especially in the summer for the tourists. I think I got “dragged out” from all the drag shows I saw during my summers in Provincetown. Just how many times can you see a Liza Minnelli impersonation? 🙂

  3. You and Harper’s Other Dad have good taste! I love minimalist stuff like Arvo Pärt’s compositions.

    • Thanks for the comment and the compliment.

      We have 3 Pärt recordings; Alina; Passio and Lamentate. I know Alina best of the 3.
      We have a few more Glass recordings. My fav of the ones we own is the opera Akhnatten

      • I got curious and pulled up an excerpt of “Akhnaten”. I’m not typically a fan of opera, but I really like this. 🙂

      • Glad you checked it out and like it. We also have a copy of his opera Einstein on the Beach. You might want to check that out as well. He’s written a number of operas but the only one I’ve seen on the stage is Satyagraha. The Met did it last year.

        Thanks again for reading and commenting

  4. I think we often have to rise above our parents views of the world or what they think is good or bad and as adults make our choices. I read and continue to read a lot. My father does not read he looks at pictures and headlines, he can’t focus or does not have the interest. My mom was the one who read a lot and knew French authors. So she encouraged me to read.
    The people managing the ballet season know their audience and know what sells and does not.
    So the program cannot be too adventuresome, so his life but you do travel and see other things so you compensate.

  5. I didn’t know much about ballet until the Dallas Ballet was company in residence my senior year of college and I spent a LOT of time in the theatre with them. Amazing athletes, amazing performers, and once you learn a little about it, it all makes sense (well, most of it, anyway).

    My parents were readers, they passed that on to me. We watched TV, yeah, but reading was important in my house, and I thank them for making sure it was important to me.

    Peace ❤
    Jay

    • The physicality is amazing. Still a new interest but I enjoy modern, more abstract choreography more than the traditional ballets that tell a linear story.

  6. I have to admit that the seeds of culture were planted by Mr. Ed Sullivan who had a plethora of culture on his show (as well as Elvis and the Beatles) and we watched it as a family. Everything from Broadway to Grand Opera, I now have an Eclectic taste for so many things because of his “really big shows.”

  7. I do love Mr.Part although Spiegel im Spiegel is so soothing it usually puts me soon to sleep – and the ballet was no exception. I too like the Director’s Choices better than the stage fairy tales.

  8. All I know of ballet is that the male dancers run around in tights. That’s why I started watching extreme fighting. Those guy in shorts rolling around in the ring are wonderful. It is a little bloody though, unlike the ballet which makes me want to kill myself.

    • The women run around in tights too but for some of us, for some reason, that is just not as interesting. 🙂
      I never considered similarities to extreme fighting. I’ll have to think about that one a bit.

      Is “extreme fighting” the same as “Mixed Martial Arts”?

      • That’s the old name for it. Check out Fuel TV. They play it in all the sports bars around here. Nice looking guys beat the crap out of each other. Fun stuff.

  9. The Turning Point is an old fave of mine. Tom Skerritt had a cute dancer’s body back in 1977. Glass is another fave of mine. I used to have a great many of this recordings, but lost them in the previous life.

    Sounds like you’re making up for lost time. Just enjoy the ride. It will keep you young. 😉

Leave a Reply

