18 comments on “Choosing the Plays – The Anticipation Begins

  1. You are to ignore the extra large duffle bag which appears with your luggage and simply pay the extra charge, and check me – um, the bag, right on through!

    Sounds like a wonderful trip!
    Peace ❤
    Jay

  2. The question is: “Have you seen any of the episodes of “Downton Abbey”? My goodness, so much thea-tuh. I’ve seen one show in my life, it was a Broadway try out in Philadelphia back in 1973 called “Over Here” which starred Patti Andrews of the Andrews sisters. I didn’t pay to get into see the play but instead was invited as a guest by a thea-tuh critic friend who was trying to impress me (and also put the make on me). I was impressed but he didn’t succeed in “making” me. One interesting trivia note from the play, John Travolta was once of the “boy dancers” in the play. And yes, he was gorgeous….then. I probably would like to see real theater but alas, that isn’t likely to happen in my lifetime here in Lower Slower. Mores the pity. Nice post. 🙂

  3. We will be going to Salzburg in a months time for the Whitsun Festival meaning 3 concerts a day or one concert one opera per day. Heavy going but it is the nature of this 4 day Festival. We are also visiting Dresden which is a must see city in Germany and Munich which we have been too before but is a very nice city to visit again. Looks like a good line up of plays at NOTL this year. I forgot to mention to Dr. Spo that there are flights to Ottawa every hour from Toronto airport its a 45 minute ride.

  4. In addition to local productions, I saw Flowers for Algernon in London, and Phantom of the Opera and Cats on Broadway in NYC. Funny story about seeing Cats. Wearing old jeans and looking pretty awful, I went to the box office about 7:45 pm to buy tickets for the only night that I still had nothing to do in the city. Turns out that, that night the theatre would be dark, so the only opportunity if I wanted to see Cats was RIGHT THEN. I was told they had a ticket on the third row if I wanted it since a couple had cancelled their seats. Of course, I bought the ticket and snuck down to my seat in the darkening theatre as the production was about to start. There was a large aisle between the second and third row, and I was so happy because I have long legs. But then the play started and the Cats started running all over the theatre including the aisle in front of me, so I had to tuck my legs in. Then one of the Cats came and stood at the empty seat beside me facing the audience and sang “The Naming of the Cats.” I wanted to reach out and touch this glorious specimen of a cat (I mean a man!). And all because I went on the wrong night!

    David

    • If I knew Flowers For Algernon had been adapted as a stage play I’d forgotten. I recall reading the short story in school. I remember there was a film starring Cliff Robertson but I’ve never seen it. I would love to have see it on stage; so much humanity in that story.

      It became fashionable to look down ones nose at AL Weber shows- I think because they’re so commercially successful- but I know know many theater lovers who haven’t seen both Cats and Phantom. I’ve only seem them once, each, but i enjoyed them.

      And I was never that close to one of the cats. What a great memory.

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. what a nice “how we met” story!

    “waiting for godot” – just say NO! I confess that I found that play boring as hell; and the dude never shows up anyway! (spoiler alert)

    • I understand your feelings about Godot even though I don’t share them. It might not be my favorite play but it certainly in the top 5. The page of my blog called A Shout into the Void is a Godot reference.

      Since I started writing that post a couple lines have been rolling around in my brain. Pozzo says (paraphrasing); that ‘the tears of the world are a finite commodity. Whenever one person stops crying someone else starts… the same is true of laughter’ I don’t find that to be a pleasant thought but I think it is an intriguing one.

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. What a cornucopia of riches at this Festival, H.K.! I’d be in my element there. I know quite a number of the plays you name, some of them very well indeed, but I won’t bore you by going through them one by one. Save to say, in response to Anne Marie’s comment that it took me some time years to warm to ‘Godot’ but it eventually became and still is one of my favourite plays of ALL – and from what you say you’d put it right up there too.
    I’d also literally walk several miles to see any Maugham play, especially one I don’t know, ‘Our Betters’ being one of them.
    Stoppard is always a memorable experience – and ‘Arcadia’, though heavy in parts, is at his brilliant best.
    ‘Major Barbara’ – as so many of Shaw’s plays, one of those that I’m sure would be improved by some judicious pruning.

    I said I wouldn’t comment on them individually so although I could go on, I’d better shut up now.

    Do give us a progress report on what you see, H.K., which I’ll be looking forward to with immense interest.

    • Thanks for your comments.

      I chuckled at the Major Barbara comment. In the movie “To Wong Foo… ” they say it is impossible to mention Julie Newmar without using the word; “statuesque”. I think it’s impossible to mention Shaw without describing him as “wordy”.

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Exactly! A pity that Shaw’s otherwise most sparely-written major play, ‘Saint Joan’, is marred by that questionably extraneous epilogue scene which, for me at least, adds needless encumbrance to all that has gone before.

      • I seen quite a few Shaw plays but never read one so I don’t know his work well enough to compare. Your comment prompts a thought though. The best production of a Shaw play I ever saw at the festival was St Joan. For people who saw the previous production a decade earlier, many say they are the two best productions of Shaw they’ve seen. Gee, maybe it’s the play.

  7. How great to be going to Stratford! I went many years ago and Maggie Smith was in residence. Three plays starring Maggie with “Private Lives” being the major crowd-pleaser.

    It appears that very few people today are familiar with “Our Betters.” By accident, I saw the pre-code, 1932 film version on TCM. OMG! If the actors that you see are as good as the actors in the movie, you are in for wonderful entertainment. All through the story, the players talk about a man called Ernest. At the end of the story, Ernest makes an appearance and that’s all I can say without spoiling it for you. Can’t wait for your reaction to this play. Watch for it on TCM, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

    • Thanks for reading and commenting.
      In looking up some info for my post I learned that there was a film version out there; George Cukor I think. I’ll look for it.

Leave a Reply

