13 comments on “Sentiment and Time Pieces

  1. I love clocks and watches — old and new! I have quite a collection of watches including two old pocket watches from my uncle, an Elgin wrist watch from my Dad, and a number of watches I have bought over the years including several Seikos. My current watch is a Seiko “solar” watch, and gets its power source from light — don’t ask me how! I’ve also owned kinetic watches, as well as the battery type quartz watches. At Lady Slipper Cove, I have two wind-up striking clocks. One is only about 30 years old that is so loud when it strikes the hour, we have to stop talking, even if on the phone because it is so loud! The other one is probably one hundred years old, keeps perfect time, strikes nice quiet notes, but TICKS VERY LOUDLY!

    Analog only please — no digital clocks or watches, although the time on my phone is digital. Oh, well, that’s progress for you.

    David

    • There are two antique clocks at Casa de Harper. In addition to the aforementioned mantel clock there is a ship’s clock. Because of it’s location in the house, we don’t actually see it’s face very often but one hears it throughout the house. When we have overnight house guests we turn off the chimes because of its proximity to the guest bedroom.

      Depending on he kind of phone, you could probably change the clock to analog. As a wise man once said; “There’s a App for that”.

  2. That mantel clock is beautiful such a classic face on it. You don’t see that anymore.
    As for wrist watches I have quite a few that I simply don’t wear anymore currently my gold and my seiko solar are both years of service gifts from my former employer and the everyday one I bought on a flight home. I note that your blog has gotten much more interesting lately. Keep it up.

  3. The mantle clock looks a bit like one my maternal grandmother had. Not sure who has it now, probably my aunt or uncle. Superman says his parents have one, too, that looks like this.

    The story of your Seiko watch is bittersweet. Good to come out and be in a relationship. Not good to lose a memento of that time.

  4. That was a lovely eulogy for your watch. I am sorry it is gone as well. You might be able to find it in a seedy Phoenix pawnshop somewhere, but maybe it is better to let it go now.

    • I have been considering a pawn shop safari. There are huge number of them in Phoenix but I got a brief fix on my iPhone a couple hours after it was stolen. That gives me a a place start. Somewhere around here I even have a serial number for it from a trip the a repair shop so if I located it I could probably rescue it without having to buy it (again).

      There is also a part of me that thinks that is just a little obsessive….

  5. People never realize what things mean to us when they decide to f#@K with our sh*t. I’m sorry for this loss of yours.

  6. We also have a camelback mantle clock. Like most, it chimes on the quarter hour, and what fascinates me is how seldom I’m aware of the chime. Another example of noise the brain filters out!

    The particulars about your watch make me (sad and) say it’s worth chancing being a ‘little obsessive’ about trying to retrieve it. Best of luck.

    • You are correct about the sounds our brains get used to hearing. The ship’s clock is in the hall way outside the guest room. I always turn off the chimes whenever I freshen up that room for guests for fear it will keep them awake but, truth be told, I rarely am aware of hearing it.

  7. Your video of your clock chiming brought back fond memories for me. When I was a child, one of my greatest treats was to spend two weeks ever summer in the country (our family lived “in town”) with my Mom’s step-sister Aunt Mary. Their house was not electrified and had an outhouse but they had a lovely mantel clock that chimed like the video you posted. Every time I hear that soft and comforting sound, warm feelings come over me that brings back those lovely memories of a quiet and peaceful time in the country, away from “in town” living. Perhaps that is why I have a couple dozen clocks at Casa Tipton-Kelly. Bill rarely misses a chance to make fun of my obsession with clocks but I think you understand.

    I am so sorry that you also lost your Seiko watch. Robbery is such a violation of one’s self sense of comfort and security. Once something like this happens you’re never the same. I know I’ve been there. Just the other day I was thinking about the gold chain necklace that I had splurged and bought for myself over thirty years ago during one of my summer jaunts in Provincetown. I know who stole it, a guy who I let stay in my apartment in Philadelphia (he was homeless, yes I know I was stupid but he was cute) while our house was being built in the country. He not only stole that gold chain necklace and other items but also my sense of trust in helping others. After that happened I never quite trusted people the same way I had in the past. It’s a shame but it is part of growing up, no matter how old you are. 🙂

    Ron

Leave a Reply

