19 comments on “Random Thoughts on a Sunday Morning

  1. the USPS is a joke. at my office, 85% of our income arrives via bank-to-bank transfers from our customers, or by credit card. however, the postman that comes into my office is a cutie and a friendly guy!

    wallet shopping for guys is simple – do you want a bi-fold or a tri-fold? black or brown? easy peasy!

    have a good week! 🙂

  2. I actually learned something just know, I had no idea this lady had written the book who then became a play and a movie.
    About lost or stolen wallets, I was in Greece 3 years ago and was the victim of a pickpocket, I had only one wallet containing everything. NOT a good thing to happen while abroad. I learned to have two small wallets, one just for credit cards etc. and the other just for cash. I also do not carry all my cards with me just what I actually need. Social insurance and other gov. documents you don’t need every day so I leave them at home.

  3. I thoroughly enjoyed “to Kill…”. One of the first “classic” books I really liked.

    Going through the machinations of replacing lost cards, et al, is a pain. I’ve been lucky and only had to do it once back when I was 18 or 19 and had my wallet stolen while rock climbing. Since then, so far, so good.

    Good luck on your wallet hunt. I need a new one, too. Mine is simply falling apart. I’m really picky about a wallet, so I don’t know what I’ll find, nor where.

    Peace ❤
    Jay

  4. Like copying those codes, I lay out all the items in my wallet such as credit cards, membership cards, etc, (no, not the money) on my scanner and make a copy of them. Should my wallet go missing, I will then remember to cancel/replace each of them without forgetting what disappeared.

    I read To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee when it was first published as a Book-of-the-Month Club selection in 1960 following graduation from high school. Having grown up in the South (NC), it changed a lot of my own attitudes and I became a more tolerant person.

    David

    • I’ve done this too. In fact I have two copies of all my credit cards and other important cards. One in my safe and one in another part of my house which I will not disclose here. I also have the credit card protection ($3.99 a month) from Discover. A little expensive for sure but worth it because I don’t have to worry about making all those phone calls should my cards get lost or stolen.

      Ron
      Retired in Delaware

  5. Believe it or not I also got my Social Security card when I got my paper route. Yes, it is interesting to see how I signed my card at ten years old. I still have that card, in my house safe.

    • Something to think about is that the Social Security card doesn’t need to be carried in your wallet. My original card is my safebox. It says “Not to be used for identification”. I do not use my SSN for anything not REQUIRED by law. The PT I had last month insisted on my SSN, and I resisted – they do not need it to file for insurance if they have that number, nor do they need it for any other purpose. Same for credit applications. Anyway, keep that in mind before carrying that number around.
      Peace ❤
      Jay

  6. Re wallets and pickpockets:
    My normal everyday practice is to keep wallet in my back pocket – but on a chain attached to a belt loop. But when I know I’m going to be in a place where pickpocketing is more likely, such as in London, and most especially on the Tube, I always prepare beforehand a second wallet to contain all my cards and most of my cash which I then secrete in a concealed inside pocket or in a money-belt under the shirt. The ‘outside’ wallet then contains only a couple of notes to act as a ‘decoy’ which wouldn’t hurt much if, despite the chain, they managed to get stolen.
    If you’re more conscious of another burglary at home, as you surely must be, could you not adapt this practice for indoor use? – such as leaving around a wallet containing a small amount of cash (and maybe an expired card or two?) while hiding your really valuable stuff away, perhaps even in a small but heavy domestic safe?

    Re: ‘Mockingbird’: I only ‘discovered’ the book about 8 years ago (though having seen the film decades since) and have read it three times already.

  7. Just catching up with you this A.M., and pardon my brashness, but I must say your writing forces me wonder why you hid your light under a bushel (so to speak…) for so long. Thus endeth the lesson.

    • Well gee…I am not sure what to say to that aside from thank you. I received a text message from a friend last night expressing a similar thought. i guess I just need to write more. Thanks for the encouragement.

  8. Back to your home robbery again……I just realized that I always lock up my wallet with credit cards, identifications, et all every time I am in my house. I won’t tell you where I lock up my leather holder (not really a wallet because I carry cash loose in my back pocket and my “wallet” in my side pocket ever since a potential pick-pocket tried to “bump” my wallet from my behind while I was waiting to cross Broad Street in Philadelphia lo these many years ago). In neighborhoods like mine (you were here) we have a LOT of lawn maintenance guys and other workers in the neighborhood on any given day. My friends Jack and Judy who live in a million dollar neighborhood right on Delaware Bay have told me quite a few of their neighbors have been robbed during the day and many times while they were in the house by one or more of these workers who make a “quick dart” into their house. During the day we leave our garage door open so I always have my rings, wallet (with all the cards) locked up. I do this automatically. I don’t even think about it. In fact, reading of your robbery reminded me of my regular routine that I’ve had for years. When we lived in Philadelphia we always kept the front door locked but here in suburbia, we do have unlocked doors during the daytime when we’re here but we do take the obvious precautions. It’s just a habit you get used to.

    Now to switch lanes (change subjects), I agree with a previous commenter: just why have you kept your writing talents hidden so long. You’re good! 🙂

    Ron
    Retired in Delaware

    • It is interesting the ways I seem to be changing my habits in the past week. I am more conscious of of putting things out of sight. The biggest change is I’ve started turning the alarms on when I go to bed. That’s foolish really since it would not have prevented what happened last week but it just seems prudent.
      Of course my biggest fear is I will roll out of bed, half asleep. some morning to let the dog out forgetting to turn them off and I’ll disturb the whole neighborhood.

      Thanks for the kind words.

      • The thing to remember is that someone is almost always watching your movements. When we lived in center city Philadelphia, every house on our block was robbed at least once. We were the only ones not robbed because we had two alarm systems: one the regular one which woke the dead with the screaming bells and the other two small Pomeranian dogs who barked at any movement of our front of back door. One time I happened to be on the first floor and I saw the door knob turn ever so slowly. I looked out through the peep hole and sure enough, there was a black guy trying the door knob to see if it was unlocked. When he realized our door was locked he went next to my neighbor’s door. He continued all the way down the street. On the weekends when I used to go out to the bars (by myself, Bill always stayed home), I would often pass a car full of three or four black buys (no blacks lived on our block) watching the movement of people on our street. Someone who is going to rob you almost aways does their “homework” first. Whoever robbed you knew that you placed your clothes with wallet and money in it around your house. Believe me, they knew exactly what they were doing. A quick “in and out.” To avoid future robberies you do have to change your “lifestyle” (there’s that WORD again but in a different context) but you don’t have to overdue it. Most robbers aren’t interested in confronting a real person, they only want your “things”. Your job is to make it as difficult as possible for them to get to your “things.” Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

