11 comments on “Starter Plays

  1. WHAT, NO MUSICALS? 😉

    on mr. bradford’s list, I have seen #2-4 and #10.

    on your list, I have seen #5-6 and #9.

    I would love to see “our town” . “godot” can sod off, as raybeard would say.

    • How DARE you, A.M. I would NEVER use such crudities, least of all about one of my five favourite plays of all time. As for most of the well-known theatre pieces of one Anton Chekov……Christ! What a yawn. Utter crap!!

  2. Both lists are good, Waiting for Godot is a great play but I remember that the first time I saw it I was too young to appreciate it then I saw it again 3 yrs ago with great actors in London and loved it. It meant something and I wondered if the first time it was a question of casting or a question of how it was presented. Plays like Medea and Antigone need some kind of background knowledge.
    Nonetheless all are great to introduce anyone to the theatre. It has to be easy to understand and access depending on the person and then the rest follows. I also like Cat on a hot tin roof or Suddenly last summer. Not comfortable plays forces viewers to acknowledge that yes there is another side to life.

    • I’ve never seen Suddenly Last Summer on stage. I have a friend who used to joke he’d always wanted to direct it as dinner theater. 🙂 I love (!) Cat on a Hot Tin Roof. I recently read something about the backstory of how it came to win the Pulitzer Prize.

  3. (Referring to your above query re my comment responding to A.M. – which I can’t reply to directly underneath. -[ Have you got all that?])

    You’re ‘choice’ is correct, H.K. – of course 🙂

  4. Although I enjoyed both the lists you displayed and created, I’m not entirely sure they are all for newcomers to the theatre scene. From Mr Bradford list I’ve seen 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 10. From your list it’s 1, 2, 6, 9. Unless I’m forgetting something…

  5. I like a mixture of the two lists: No Exit, Antigone, Our Town, and Waiting for Godot, but would throw in The Lion in Winter, The Effect of Gamma Rays on Man-in-the-Moon Marigolds, A Raisin in the Sun, Macbeth, The Caucasian Chalk Circle, and Romero and Juliet.

    • Thanks for the great comment. Gamma Rays would be interesting choices too; both wonderful plays. I considered both Macbeth and R&J. Macbeth was my first Shakespeare, doubly so actually because it is the first Bard play I saw on the stage and the first one I read. In the end I decided to go with a comedy but either would be great choices for tragedy. I’m embarrassed to admit I did not think of Lion in Winter. I love that play and would definitely have included it on my list if I’d thought of it. Not sure what I’d bump but something would have gone. I’m intrigued by Caucasian Chalk Circle. I’ve nether seen nor read it. Actually your comment prompted me to realize the only Brecht I’ve even seen were musicals; Street Scene; City of Mahagony and Three Penny Opera.

Leave a Reply

