13 comments on “Joining the 21st Century

  1. Thank You, Now I shall investigate whether or not my library does that also. I have a Kindle so I should be able to use it to get some more books.. Just what I need I have currently three books to read on there and here I am reading blogs. Stay warm..

  2. That is great, I was not aware that you could do that either. I am sure it applies to most libraries.
    As for the snake sign, maybe its a euphemism for politicians lurking behind trees and bushes.

  3. I remember seeing those snake warning signs at the rest areas between Phoenix and Colorado Springs! I was afraid that if I DID see one, I would pee in my pants before getting to the men’s room!

    David

  4. I just got a library card from the county I work in just because they lend via ebooks, and they are tied to my home county library, as well as another county a little farther north. I figure anything I want will be available one way or another, and the branch where I’d go pick up anything hardcover is less than a mile from my office – an easy trip at lunch or after work! Too bad we don’t have too many snakes on the approach to our branches!
    Peace ❤
    Jay

    • Not a Pynchon fan?

      I liked the one book of his I’ve read. It was his second novel and everything I’ve read says it is his “most accessible”. Maybe I won’t like him as much after I read more.

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Very much not, I’m afraid. I probably would have appreciated his stuff more if I was reading it in an English literature class, but I didn’t and I don’t.

        I am quite curious as to how you find Gravity’s Rainbow, though. Please keep us posted.

  5. “Gravity’s Rainbow” is on my “to read” list. I keep hoping to find a old, old print copy of it for myself, but alas I might just have to settle for a recent reprint. I’m weird like that.

    • The copy I got from the Phoenix Public Library is a 2006 publication.

      An interesting factoid; Gravity’s Rainbow is dedicated to Richard Farina whom I remember more as a musician and activist than novelist (besides being Joan Baez’ brother-in-law). Apparently the dedicagtion is based on Pynchon’s fondness for Farina’s 1966 novel; “Been Down So Long It Looks Like Up to Me” which Pynchon described as; “coming on like the Hallelujah Chorus done by 200 kazoo players with perfect pitch… hilarious, chilling, sexy, profound, maniacal, beautiful, and outrageous all at the same time.” Sounds like an addition to my To Read list.

Leave a Reply

