14 comments on “Monsoon

  1. One of the many fascinating things about the U.S. is that weather phenomena, whatever they are, seem to be more spectacular than anywhere else on the planet. Not sure if part of this is an illusion due to the B.B.C.’s longstanding bias towards America in reporting news, or it really is the case. Whatever the truth is, our British climate is just so BORING – at least until recent years when we’ve started being buffetted this way and that, deluged on, frozen to our nether regions and God only knows what’ll happen next. But even with the entire earth shifting from its cosy, predictable seasonal cycle, we can still be sure that the most extremes of any state of weather, it’ll most likely me manifested on American land.

    I’ve never actually seen a tornado, not even a tiny one, but I’d imagine it must be pretty darned terrifying seeing a huge dark funnel approaching with all its furious power.

    • I saw a tornado when I was 6 yrs old living near Chicago. We fled quickly to the basement. It did some damage, downed trees, broken windows and such but nothing devastating.

      Here we have siroccos. They are minature funnel clouds of dust, very short-lived, that form in the desert, wander around a bit, and then disappear. They are a fairly common sight when driving between Phoenix and Palm Springs. I saw one form on a construction site in north Scottsdale once and chase a few cars down the street.

  2. in the past 2 weeks we have had 6 inches of rain; NOT normal for these parts. we broke a 100 year old record already and the month is not over yet. thank bob this wasn’t snow!

  3. I wonder where they got the words Monsoon and Haboob from, Monsoon is usually something in South-East Asia and Haboob is an Arabic word for heavy and hot dust storm from the Sahara.
    I wonder what did the Native call it originally?

    • That is definitely the correct source for Haboob. I suppose if one is looking for the name of a dust storm in the desert it would be natural to see what things are called in the Sahara.

  4. Fascinating weather information about your neck of the woods….er..desert. I never knew. I thought it was sun and no rain all of the time. Little did I know. 🙂

  5. You have your monsoon season, we have hurricane season! And, we’ve had our first tropical storm, Miss Andrea graced us with a LOT of rain and wind, but nothing too damaging around here.

    Peace ❤
    Jay

    • And thanks to Miss Andrea, NC is now officially drought-free in all 100 counties, for the first time in over three years. Unfortunately, 2013 is predicted to be an especially bad hurricane season, and those of us who live on the coast of NC tend to get a bit worried.

      David

  6. Interesting weather phenomenon. And this new thing the Derecho. Now when I heard this I said to myself why are they calling this a ‘right’ storm. Because Derecho is Spanish for right. The opposite is Izquerda or left.

    See what 3 years of Spanish language did for me? I can tell right from left.

    • I had not heard of this in relation to weather before. I am proud to say I knew the Spanish words however. I wonder if it has something to do with the direction of the wind… though ‘clockwise’ might have been more descriptive

Leave a Reply

