14 comments on “Game of Thrones – Bon Voyage Ball Cock

  1. bwhahahahaha! believe it or don’t, I too have repaired the 2 “thrones” in my house. the original “thrones” that came with the house 13 years ago when we bought it have been replaced with water-efficient models. it’s the hard (heh heh heh) water that does in the workings in the back tank.

  2. You are so butch and with that smile, umm…
    We had the plumber in this week to replace completely the two toilets in both bathroom, circa 1976. The new model is quiet and requires half the water the old one used. Next new wood flooring in the bedrooms.

  3. Hate to disappoint you, but I’m afraid that the floating cup thingies may have a short life span. About 5 or 6 years ago during a plumbing drama (sewer leader collapse, cracked commode during repairs etc) I replaced a cracked commode with a new toilet with the floating cup mechanism. After 5-6 years, the float is begining to become unreliable. It probably is just me, but unlike the good ol’ball cock, adjustment and repair does not appear to be intuitive. Good luck

    • Thanks for reading and commenting. I suspect you may be correct. The design seems to be better engineered than the old valve but the materials are, what a surprise, plastic. We shall see.

      I saw a couple models that were sensor based valves; much more high-tech. They were more expensive and I didn’t take the time to learn enough about them because, at least the ones I was looking at, would have required me to replace the toilet itself. I guess really only the tank but I am not sure one can buy tanks separate from bowls. If I find I am making repairs again in a couple years I may consider that.

      thanks again

  4. Our house will be one hundred years-old next year; we’ve live in it for twenty-seven of those years. The house only had one other occupant since 1914, a lady who received it as a dowry, but never married. She never modernized anything, so when we came on the scene, there was a lot to do, and we did most of it with our own tiny hands. Well, they’re actually not that tiny. Of the skills I’ve learned — and some of them I never wanted — having replace not one, but two, toilets from the ground up is my proudest achievement. Or, maybe hanging kitchen cabinets. No, definitely the toilets;-)

  5. I’ve fixed a number over the years so am familiar with what you’re going through. If you get a good replacement cartridge it’ll last for eons.

  6. my man; so butch! he can fix things around the house – and look good rattling the pots and pans in the kitchen – what’s not to love?

Leave a Reply

