17 comments on “Culture Vultures?

  1. Indeed the word vulture has a negative connotation. Maybe some other word with a positive light would be more appropriate. Culture Queens, no sounds too New York. Culture afficionados, maybe.
    Culture connaisseur or maybe the French word Mécène is best in terms of appreciation or supporter of the arts in general.

    • I like that….. ‘Mécène des Arts’.

      A friend says one must be cautious to use the term “Queen” correctly. I could be one as my mother is deceased but Harper’s Other Dad’s mother is still living so he would be a Culture Princess

  2. “Patron of the Arts” might have sounded too high flutent to the person you were talking with so he went with the younger power couple term.

  3. The world needs more “high consumption consumers” of the arts. Without all those butts in the seats there would be less variety and quality to choose from and a lot more poorer artisans.

    • We are seeing both La Traviata and La Boheme this year. Violeta definitely has consumption. Mimi may have it as well so I guess, at least this season, we are, indeed, consumption consumers.

      I’m not sure if Mimi has consumption or some other, more generic, ailment; what Carol Burnette used to refer to as “old movie disease”.

  4. this afternoon, spouse and I went to a single-screen old fashioned movie theater to see “the mark of zorro”, a 1920 silent film (starring douglas fairbanks sr.) with live pipe organ accompaniment. FABULOUS! and no screaming brats either!

  5. Not much chance of being a Culture Vulture here in Gayberry, U.S.A. unless you count drag shows. Mona Lotts is a hoot but not what one would consider culture. Just saying. :

  6. It’s a term I used to use to describe myself in those long-gone days when I’d put contact ads in gay publications. (Sometimes adding in brackets “Esp. Beethoven/Shakespeare”) I don’t think it’s seen quite as negative here – more ‘highbrow’ though perhaps also a bit ‘cold’. It certainly got the responses to my add flooding in, maybe a lot of it out of curiosity. But by describing myself as such when I got to know the repliers they tended to be taken aback that my tastes were much more catholic than the term implies e.g I used to have a keen interest in pop music (much less so now) and musicals as well as ‘popular’ literature of the time like Stephen King.

    I would describe you and H.O.D. as ‘culture vultures’ without any of a hint of the veneer of snobbishness that it seems to have accreted in your country. I don’t find it in the least off-putting – but, then, I am one myself.

    Re your mentioning of ‘Clockwork Orange’ wth regard to B’s 9th. I have a bit of the same association as you have, though not so much as tto distract me when I hear the smphony. A bigger one with that film for me is ‘La Gazza Ladra’ overture and the gang rape scene (though there’s actually not too much to see). That particular association really is overwhelming for me – and it will be forever, though thankfully(?) one doesn’t hear the Rossini anything like as often as the Beethoven.

    Talking about culture, I can also mention that I’ve been sent a video of the 1984 Met production of ‘La Forza del Destino’ (Leontyne Price/James Levine). It’s an opera of which I only know a little and, now having played the first act, it looks pretty darn good.

    • Based on your comment I listened to the La Gazza Ladra overture. I certainly recognize it from the film but never made the connection between the film and Rossini before.

      I have never seen La Forza del Destino. Harper’s Other Dad advises it was a signature role for Leontyne Price so it sounds like a great recording with which to experience it for the first time.

      • ‘La Forza’ is a fine opera – a rae bit of praise from me who, until quite recently, just didn’t ‘get’ Verdi – and he’s still not plain sailing for me. But I agree that you ought to give this one a try.

        Yes, that Rossini overture, despite my now perpetual association of it with gang rape, is a good one. Actually that was the first live opera I ever saw in my life. I’d have been about 19 and was given the treat by a work colleague of being taken up to Newcastle upon Tyne, about 40 miles north of where I lived then, to see it at their Theatre Royal, the only place in the whole of north east England which was able at that time (mid 1960s) to stage opera at all.

Leave a Reply

