8 comments on “An Alien In The Gayborhood

  1. Long live Kringle! At least that’s what I’m assuming you’re referring to. I was first introduced to Kringle when I worked for a company that was headquartered in Racine. I had to work there for a short time (I’m from west suburban Chicago), and found it to be a very nice lakeside town with an interesting history. I’ve been reading your blog almost since the beginning, I was prompted to because I also follow Mr. Spo. I continue to follow both of you, so I guess that says something good. Anyway, keep up the good work.

    • It is, indeed, kringle. I lived in Racine from 6th grade through high school and became too familiar with them. I’m not even sure how it came up but Mark Zubro, the author mentioned in the post, and I were drinking wine at a guest house in Key West with some other friends and we discovered Kringle was something we had in common.

      Thanks for reading and commenting

      • Did you know that if you enter ‘kringle’ in Google search, the very first thing that pops up is ohdanishbakery.com? If Racine doesn’t get known for anything else, I am glad it is known for this delectable pastry.

      • That’s not that unusual, the fact that O & H Bakery is nowhere else, but Racine, makes it memorable. I still keep expecting to see Zayre on certain roads, then remember they closed.

Leave a Reply

