4 comments on “Bait & Switch?

  1. The final line of your review, “… It’s not better…. but it is shorter.” is priceless.

    Like Groucho Marx saying “I’ve had a perfectly wonderful evening, but this wasn’t it,” or Dorothy Parker’s, “She runs the gamut of emotions from A to B.”

  2. Bait and switch, I encounter it all the time with my blog. Just yesterday I received a notice from some organization that my blog “has been selected” to be included in some exclusive forum. All that was necessary to “complete the transaction” was to PAY for a subscription (i.e., “you won’t the Irish lottery but you have to wire money to us to we can send YOU the money). Yeah, right. I “won” alright.

    Here’s how my blog works. I like to write. I like it that some people enjoy reading my blog. But believe me, I am not that naive to believe that I have been “selected” or “won” anything for my writing. Just ain’t going to happen Gertrude.

    Every time we ramp up the filters to spare us from the spam, the next Internet wannabe millionaires have figured out how to write a program to bypass those filers and to appeal to our vanity. Only one catch, they ALWAYS WANT YOU TO SEND THEM MONEY because you “won.”

    I think think this book experience you wrote about is just another variation of a bait and switch scam.

    A couple of quotes here: P.T. Barnum said “There is a sucker born every minute.” True.
    Grouch Marx said “I sent the club a wire stating,
    PLEASE ACCEPT MY RESIGNATION.
    I DON’T WANT TO BELONG TO ANY CLUB
    THAT WILL ACCEPT ME AS A MEMBER.”

    • I am fairly certain the phrase ‘Just ain’t gonna happen; Gertrude.’ has just joined my lexicon of commonly used phrases.

      This wasn’t truly a B&S situation, of course, since the book was free. That’s what makes it confusing. But I know what you mean. Folks will look for ways to separate one from ones money.

Leave a Reply

