13 comments on “Reinventing The Wheel

  1. I hate it when things like that happen. I am absolutely no good with anything like that. I am not mechanical and I do not have a flashlight app on my phone.. I should look into that. Perhaps the reason for two flat tires is that you drove over Harper’s Other Dad’s two horned (Faux) Viking Helmut…I probably should not have written that as I am already in trouble with him for not being sympathetic enough with his rotten cold for which I will admit to being a clod…but it is so much fun.

  2. I just spit ice tea all over myself laughing. I gave up on AAA … GEICO is much faster response time. My question is wait till one of your friends needs. “jump” and figure that one out.

  3. I gave up on AAA after they screwed up TWICE in the only TWO calls I made to them, once dispatching someone to a town 2 hours away (after I spelled the location I was at for them), then sending a tire/jump start truck instead of a tow truck despite what I specifically requested. Finally they were unable to direct a tow truck to a well-known location on a major highway. I am sticking with the included roadside assistance that my insurance provides. It’s a better deal anyway, and so far, the only time I’ve needed them, they were dead on accurate with everything.

    And that is some very weird junk in place of a space. How can all that crap be cheaper, easier and lighter than a donut spare? I like my full-size tire and wheel nestled up under my frame.

    Peace ❤
    Jay

  4. Hell it would have passed on another tube of Goo and just bought a tire and thrown it into my trunk with a jack. THAT I know how to operate. lol

  5. Umm… I have a Hyundai Elantra 2012 I never did look under that carpet, I am going to check to see if there is a spare tire or that doughnut thing which is good for a few Km until the service station. Though on Highways in Canada they usually only pump gas. Luckily we do not drive the car much and almost never outside the City. Though I did get a flat tire in Ottawa a few months ago but was very near a gas station to have it attend too my a very hunky and friendly repairman he was so sweet is a butch way.

  6. Is it possible to get a donut tire or better yet, a rim and tire and put it in that space? That’s what I would do and then sell the pump and goo on ebay. Shame on Hyundae!

  7. So in essence it’s a high tech patch kit. Nice. And yes, you can always scrape a junkyard and have them pull a full up tire off a similar car and never have to worry again.

  8. I checked my Hyundai Elantra and it has a doughnut tire. I think that in Canada it’s the Law they have to put in at least a small tire, given the wilderness and the vast expanse of tundra and the wild bears and tigers, well you get the picture.

    • I wonder if it might have been an option when we bought the car. I will definitely look into the cost of a doughnut tire. If I can find one with a Tim Horton’s logo I can call it a Christmas present.

      Vast expanses of tundra with wild bears and tigers??? Oh my. What are they wearing?

  9. Coincidentally I was just about to write a post about flat tires. I should be ashamed to admit that I’ve never changed a flat tire in my life. I’m not but I should be ashamed. The only reason I joined AAA in 1982 was in case I had a flat tire. Never had one (knock on wood) but just in case, I got AAA to the rescue or at least I thought I did until reading our post. Bill said he avoided flat tire by buying the most expensive tires available and thus he never had flat tires either. Not a problem now though since we’re a one vehicle family. Having said this and bragged about no flat tires I fully expect to have one within the week. 🙂

Leave a comment