3 comments on “Other Desert Cities

  1. I can’t believe that it is almost two years since I’ve seen this play. With your intelligent review, you brought back a wonderful theater-going experience.

    What made the production I saw so memorable was the extraordinary cast, especially Stockard Channing and Judith Light who won a well deserved Tony for her performance as Silda. The following year, she won another Tony for her work in “The Assembled Parties” which I hope you get a chance to see. Keep an eye out for it.

    Can you add to your post and tell us about the actors in the production you saw?

    • Thanks for your comment. I am so jealous of you having seen the B’way cast. I love Stockard Channing. Judith Light is so talented though I admit I was disappointed when I heard that she replaced Linda Lavin when the production moved from Lincoln Ctr to B’way. Obviously Light was outstanding. Most exciting of all, I believe the B’way production was Rachel Griffith’s B’way debut. She’s a fav of mine.

      The regional cast was quite good. Lawrence Pressman played Lyman. Anne Allgood was Polly. Brooke was played by Paige Lindsey White. Robin Mosley played Silda and Will Mobley played Trip. I was familiar with Allgood and had seen Pressman many times. I was not familiar with the rest of the cast.

  2. Thanks for taking the time to list the cast members. The only one that I was familiar with was Lawrence Pressman – his extensive resume is impressive. Always interesting to see who the players were. It appears that they are bringing good theater to your area – so far removed from NYC.

Leave a Reply

