17 comments on “The Wickedly Talented Adele Dazeem

    • …or dyspeptic.

      The two tweets I liked best were the ones that suggested it either he was speaking an alien language from “Battlefield Earth” or he was reinforcing his closet door by pretending he didn’t know anything about B’way musicals.

    • We’re both showing our age by remembering the game show so well. 🙂

      Most people, at least theater queens, know her from Rent and Wicked but I think anyone, if they were tasked to introduce someone, might take the time to learn her name….. or at least have the presence of mind to read it correctly.

  1. I was only half watching the Oscars…it was so dull I nodded off a few times…and wasn’t sure that I’d heard him flub her name…I was pretty sure he had when Ellen made a point saying it like 3 times after Idina’s performance. Thanks for this, though, it was a very funny take on the situation.
    Cheers!

  2. Well done, Harper’s Keeper, but at this point, let’s give J. Travolta a break. He was reading off a teleprompter, his onstage pressurized brain shuffled Idina Menzel into Adele Dazeem.

    I felt that the broadcast as a whole was the least bad in years and years. I did have to leave the room midway into Matthew McConaughey’s acceptance speech. All Oscar nominees need to be required to attend workshops conducted by British theatre people to learn how to make graceful expressions of appreciation. A little self-deprecation wouldn’t hurt either, like Daniel Day-Lewis saying last year that he was supposed to have played Margaret Thatcher and Meryl Streep likewise Abraham Lincoln adds a nice touch. Daddy looking down from Heaven with a Pabst Blue Ribbon doesn’t cut it unless you’re at a tractor-pull. Also, if I had to hear McConaughey talk about his acting ‘process’ one more time in a pre-Oscar interview, I thought I might just jump out of a window. Nobody wants that, now do they;-)

  3. Hopefully the post didn’t come off too critical. I think a lot of people are having fun with it but none of it seems particularly critical of JT. A friend of mine in Michigan started an Adele Dazeem Fan page on Facebook. People have even making up biographical details and resume credits for the fictitious actor. I saw a thing online where the producers of If/Then were including an understudy notice in one of the preview programs saying the role usually played by Idina Menzel was being played that night by Adele Daseem.

    I agree with you about the show. The pizza thing was kind of dumb and went on too long but I loved the selfies. I’m working on a post about how much fun it is to watch awards shows with Twitter open at the same time. It was funny to watch Ellen take the pictures on television and then see them come through real-time on as her tweets.

    A FB friend of mine posted something about how wonderfully, humble, heartfelt and spiritual Matthew McC’s speech was. I’m not sure we were watching the same speech. I think the best of the night was Cate Blanchette’s

      • I liked him in From Paris With Love, which included Jonathan Rhys Meyers, at least it was within the last 6 years. 🙂

Leave a Reply

