10 comments on “Family Treasure

  1. Mine was ” daily vacation, daily vacation , daily vacation Bible school, in our work, in our play, we are happy all the day, in our daily vacation Bible school.” And I know I am pictured in 8th grade a la huge crinolines, so I know I must have attended yearly for many sessions. No wonder I am so well imprinted with our theme song!

    • I never had the pleasure of parochial school but since VBS was only 2 weeks in the summer I think you are right. I think was basically designed to give the stay at home moms a break…. and. of course to tech us about the baby Jesus.

      Thanks for the card – what a hoot!

  2. I have a perfect attendance certificate from the Downingtown Methodist church summer bible school 1948. I do remember attending that bible school when I was five years old and how good I felt about it. It wasn’t until I was ten years old attending a Nazerene church service with my Aunt Peg that I realized I was a “sinner who was BORN IN SIN, WILL LIVE IN SIN ALL MY LIFE AND WILL DIE IN SIN” that I stopped going to church because I knew, as a little queer boy, I was doomed in the eyes of the organized church. However, I still get a good feeling when I look at that perfect attendance certificate I received in 1948 and knew that at that time maybe I wasn’t such a awful person. Thanks for sharing your time of innocence.

  3. I remember VBS as being much the same as yours, especially since I was also a Southern Baptist. Lots of singing and crafts and finger paints and yeah, the obligatory gold coffee can with either macaroni or just some paper to cover the painted label on can. Cool post!
    Peace ❤
    Jay

    • So you mean you mother never got new canisters made by gluing shell macaroni on the outside of 1, 3, and 5 pound coffee cans and spray painting them gold? Quel tragique! 🙂

  4. I remember finger painting in VBS. Also, we arranged leaves on top of colored construction paper, held a wire screen over them and using a toothbrush painted the screen to make pretty leaf shadows.

    The best project though was in 7th grade. We took a large about 24 inch diameter of heavyweight aluminum, drew a pattern on it (mine was dogwood blossoms), spread a tar like substance where there was no pattern, and then dipped them into an acid solution. The acid etched deeply into the aluminum for the pattern. The acid and then tar were removed, and the edges were crimped. The result was a beautiful Mother’s Day tray. I’m sure that would be considered much too “dangerous” to do today!

Leave a Reply

