16 comments on “There I Was in Mr Orpheum’s Office…

  1. I love the old vaudeville theatres, and we have so many in Los Angeles. We even have an Orpheum at which my partner and I have seen quit a few concerts, a drag beauty pageant, and a screen of Metropolis with live Wurlitzer accompaniment.

  2. I love old theatres like this. In Huntington, we had the Keith-Albee. Here in RIchmond, we have the Byrd, the Mosque, and the Carpenter Center (the last two have new names thanks to “naming rights”). They have all been faithfully renovated and repaired and updates are invisible for the most part (such as new electrical and sound systems). The Byrd shows movies and has live shows, plus a BEAUTIFUL Wurlitzer theatre organ. The Mosque has minarets, and the Carpenter Center the changing ceiling, along with many other unique features. They are all treasures.

    Loved this post, and would love to get a private tour if I ever make it out there!

    Peace ❤
    Jay

    • I know it is hugely expensive to restore old theaters and the ROI (in dollar terms) is marginal at best in many areas but the restorations always amaze me. Before moving to the Southwest we lived in Michigan where we had regular access to the Michigan Theatre in Ann Arbor and the Fox Theatre in Detroit; just beautiful.

  3. This is wonderful and am glad you are enjoying yourself as a Docent. It is a fun thing to do. With your knowledge of Theatre it goes well hand in hand.

  4. Now I have that song in my head!

    In other news, that theater is gorgeous. I can almost see Norma Desmond descending the staircase, you know, if her house was an old theater … in Phoenix.

    • Funny! I thought of I Norma Desmond when I found that pic of Mae West. I’m not sure why. Of course a day rarely goes by that I don’t think of Norma Desmond.

      As for the earworm… yep. I never see or hear the theatre’s name without instantly thinking….

      “…Get yourself some new orchestrations
      New routines and red velvet curtain
      Get a feathered hat for the baby
      Photographs in front of the theatre
      Get an agent
      And in jig time
      You’ll be being booked in the big time

      It’s a curse…and you’re welcome. 🙂

    • Thanks for the compliment on the photos. The Mae West photo and the detail on the exterior balcony are public domain but I took the others with my smartphone. 🙂

  5. My oh my! What a miracle of preservation! I could swoon on entering a building like that among such sumptuous decor and furnishings. Such a pity it has to be spoiled by the presence of……people, of all things!

    • And, sadly, the people present are graying rapidly. Because they use the theater mostly for ballet, opera, and such; and it is located in Phoenix, the average age of the people at any performance skews well north of 60. I’m not sure what commitment the next generations will have to keep it.

  6. Wow. Wow. Wow! I want those columns. And the peacock staircase. And Pan. And, thanks loads. I can’t get “Some People” out of my head, which means I’m going to have to sing the entire song… outloud.

Leave a Reply

