5 comments on “Usher Night – Thrown Into The Deep End

  1. I think the bane of such concerts of very popular music, even for ‘truly’ classical works (such as Rachmaninov, Tchaikovsky, Grieg etc) is that there’s always someone in the audience nearby who ruins it by insisting on humming along. Then I read your final para which would have seen me making haste to the exit.

  2. I understand what you mean. When I have an experience like the ones you are describing my ‘thought bubble’ says: ‘I bought a ticket to hear the orchestra, not the audience’. That said, I think the circumstances are different when the house if full of children and there is a vocalist on stage encouraging people to sing along. I don’t think the audience was acting inappropriately…but that is probably why I would not have bought a ticket.

    • Nope. I had to ask some people to move to their proper seats. And I got to shine my flashlight at someone and scowl at them to make them stop recording the concert on their phone but, in both cases, the culprits were 30-somethings.

Leave a Reply

