6 comments on “Stonewall – 45 Years Later

  1. David I want to thank you for writing so well on this topic, you are well informed and you have lots of nuggets of information that is often unknown.
    If you and the Spo Guy get married let us know in advance because Will and I love weddings.

  2. Many of us remember exactly where we were when a momentous historical event took place. I remember where I was when I heard of the Stonewall Riots. I was in the Westbury Bar, South 15th and Spruce Streets in Philadelphia, with friends. The news hit the bar like a wave. I remember the euphoric feeling that swept through the bar. It was like “Good! Finally! We had enough!” At the time I thought no more would come of it. Little did I know at that time that history was being made and never again would the police harass and terrorize gay bar patrons like they also did in Philly. We turned a corner that night. This July 3rd, Bill and I will mark 50 years together. July 3rd, 1964 was the night I walked around the bar and thanked Bill for the drinks he had been sending my way for the past three months. I figured after all that money he spent on me that at least I could say “thanks!” Little did I know that night history was also being made. Who would had ever have guessed that fifty years later that I would be living with the same man. And now married. July 3rd will be the 1st anniversary of our legal marriage. We are witnessing history every day. Sometimes we just don’t know it. One thing I would never have foretold was that fifty years later I would be officially married. 🙂

    • Thanks for sharing that. Being (only) slightly younger and having come out much later I didn’t learn about Stonewall until much later. It’s good to have a first hand perspective.

Leave a Reply

