11 comments on “Jersey Boys

  1. You two culture vultures do get around now don’t you. I’m lucky if I get to watch Masterpiece Theatre on PBS Sunday night.
    I appreciate your review. I’ve been wanting to see it myself but haven’t had the time. I was wondering if it would be a bit cheesy. All I have seen of it was a performance on the Tony awards a few years back. The music is a bit before my time but enjoyable. Now you make me want to check it out. Maybe I’ll check out a matinee after work and avoid the evening rush hour. Thanks for the heads up!

  2. When Pat was here a few weeks ago we were hoping to see “Jersey Boys” at the local cinema. Sad to say it wasn’t here (not for nothing are we known as “Lower Slower Delaware.”) That said, I have hear that there “wasn’t much music” in the movie but that doesn’t bother me. I’m always more interested in the human drama of the story and from you review, that’s what this movie seems to be. As usual, I’ll wait for it to come out on DVD through Netflix. One thing I don’t like though is the characters breaking the Fourth Wall and talking to the audience. That’s why I stopped watching “House of Cards.” I found it too distracting every time Kevin Spacey (who I like a LOT) would break character with one of his snide asides to us in the viewing audience. I didn’t understand the purpose of his additional narration other than “Kevin’s cool.” I didn’t get it. However, I will watch “Jersey Boys” even though they also employ this unnecessary device.

    • It’s a matter of personal preference, of course so there’s no “right” answer but, for whatever it’s worth, Spacey does it in House of Cards because the MP in the original British series did it. In theory they aren’t breaking character but bringing you in on what the character is thinking. That said, if you don’t like it…then you don’t like it.

  3. I haven’t seen either the musical or the movie. My boss’s wife dragged him to the musical when it was here in Reno. He said it was okay but it dragged a little. So I never bothered to go. Here in Reno seat were around 30 bucks.

  4. So here we have it – your opinion, with which I largely concur, and therefore have very little to add.
    It would be fairly standard for anyone who’s seen the stage show to feel let down by the cinema version, as I know from my own experiences. But at least we didn’t have the irritations of sing-alongs from the audience. I’d also imagine that the film would cut two or three numbers, as they (nearly) always do, so it leaves me wondering what was missing.
    I’d still like to see it in the theatre – but only if I can have my own box so as not to have to put up with those silly audience participations.
    (Pity that in the screen’s all-cast finale we didn’t catch more than a glimpse of former dancer Christopher Walken, who seemed to be mostly ‘margined’ off the screen.)

  5. I never listen to the professional ‘critics’. I believe in what the real audience has to say. Clint Eastwood is a good director and I am certain he filmed ‘Jersey Boys’ from a different angle. Thanks for your honest, good review of the movie because those critics trashed it. The critics raved about ‘The Book of Mormon’ and after waiting a year for my tix, when I saw the show, my SO and I walked out! IT SUCKED BIG TIME! We did see ‘Jersey Boys’ and it was really good. I was in grammar/high school when The Four Seasons came out, so I had great memories of them, plus I love the music.
    Thanks again.

    • Thanks for reading and commenting.

      I like to write about what I see. It encourages me to be analytical about the reasons I like or don’t like things. I read reviews pretty often, especially after I see something. I rarely let them determine whether I will see something but I find I learn a lot from their comments; even if only to help me articulate why I think they are wrong. I like to think I can recognize ‘good’ from ‘bad’ but I’ve also learned that things are rarely one or the other. Even when they are, I can think of things I know to be really well done that I did not care for, and things that are flawed that I connect with and love. It is all a matter of personal taste.

      Please comment again when moved to do so. Especially let me know when you think I am wrong in my comments. 🙂

  6. Saw the musical on stage several times…i ushered a couple of the shows. I enjoyed it. It’s not Les Miserables but it is worth seeing and paying for. After your review, we might just have to wait for the netflix version to see the movie.

Leave a Reply

