15 comments on “The Tonight Show

  1. This sounds so fun! I would have loved to have been there. The lip-sync contest must have been a major thrill. I’ve watched it several times on youtube. I can’t get enough of Kevin Hart. I have such a crush on him…

    It’s a shame the way TV production companies treat studio audiences: like cattle being herded into a pen. I sat in a studio audience for a sitcom taped out in LA one time and that’s how I was treated. People barking orders at you then expecting you to laugh on cue. At least with your event last night the ushers could give the people the respect they or any audience member deserves.

    We had our usher appreciation party last Friday night in Richmond. I hope they do something like that for you out in Phoenix.

    • Thanks for reading and commenting. No one seemed put off by the strictness. Everyone was just pumped to be there. The only complaint I got was from a woman who had an obstructed view seat. She could see the giant monitors above the set but could not see the much of the stage itself because of a camera position. The were polite to her but reminded her that her ticket was actually stamped “Obstructed View” . There were no other seats available. If she wanted to give up her seat there were standbys outside that would be happy to take it. She looked a little miffed but she stayed.

  2. So glad your weekend ended on a high note. I probably would have stayed also, but I would be bitching!!

    As Cubby said, our local org had the annual Usher Appreciation Party on Friday which was extremely well done. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Great food and drink compliments of the house. And I took away a small award for having worked more shows than anyone else this year to date (since August). I enjoy the work and love the perks. Saw Book Of Mormon 4 times I think. And The Nutcracker so many times I think I could dance it (in my mind, anyway).

    I’m trying to figure out how to get The Tonight Show to Richmond. I envy your opportunity. Have fun!

    • The appreciation event sounds great. Congrats on the award! It’s a nice expression of appreciation for the time you commit. The theatre company I used to volunteer with did that. The two venues where I volunteer now are both owned/managed by the City so I’m sure that would be seen as an extravagant waste taxpayer dollars.

      They try to show their appreciation though. When schedule for the second half of the season was posted, ushers who’d worked the most hours YTD were given access to sign up 24 hrs before it was opened for the rest of the volunteers. That way we got first pick of the programs and shifts. I thought that was a nice gesture and didn’t cost the City anything.

      No one is saying so but I also think that was a factor in how the ushers were picked for the Super Bowl events. Officially is was ” a lottery” but I was selected for 3 of the 4 events and there was a handful of people that worked all three that I was at. The odds against that being normal ‘luck-of-the-draw’ are pretty long. Maybe they gave us multiple entries based on hours worked. I don’t know and I’m not complaining.

      And I know what you mean about the Nutcracker. I worked 5 of them. One of the guys I volunteer with worked 21. He’ll have that music as an ear worm for a long time.

  3. VERY COOL! That’s how it’s supposed to be when you usher!

    I remember being chief rigger for the Dallas Ballet when they were artists-in-residence at Marshall University. Nothing like standing back stage staring at make dancers’ packages for hours since there was bloody little to do as a rigger once the stage was set! That was the bomb!

    Not Jimmy Fallon, but I get it!

    Peace ❤
    Jay

  4. This was a very interesting account “behind the scenes” — or should I say, “up the aisles” account of what happens at a nationally broadcast television show. Thanks much for linking me! Following your blog now. 😀

    • Thanks for reading. I’d been away from blogging for a while and just restarted. Hopefully you’ll see regular posts. You’ll have to be the judge of whether it’s interesting. I look forward to your comments

    • I liked The Roots a lot! And the audience at the broadcast get to hear a lot more of them than the t.v. audience does. They played almost 20-30 min during the warm up.

      I’m not a Ferrell fan but his lip syncing Beyonce’s Drunk in Love was hysterical. And he’s really popular so having him there boosted the excitement level in the audience significantly.

    • I’d not heard this. I’ll certainly read it.

      It’s a positive sign that she made the decision to publish it. So often estates find unpublished works and release them after an author’s death. Then we see why the author never wanted them published in the first place. There’s a long history of that in popular music too. Once someone dies every squeak ever captured by a microphone becomes ‘the lost album’, ‘the basement tapes’, or the ‘unpublished masterpiece’. The artist’s reputation is damaged by the heirs’ desire to maximize their inheritance.

      The fact that is was a ‘first novel’ and was set aside in favor of TKAMB probably means it isn’t as good. If course, if “as good as ‘To Kill A Mockingbird'” is where one sets the bar, not too much would see the light of day.

Leave a Reply

