17 comments on “Loss of Spontaneity

  1. OMG. Did you meet The Donald? Did you get to shake his hair?

    I am still of the opinion that you need to schedule in some quality time with H.O.D. Otherwise he misses you and gets mopey.

  2. The reason I’m in the I.T./InfoSec field is precisely because I value my free time. Many people don’t realize that I.T. is equal part downtime and sheer terror. It’s fun.

  3. Eeek! Take control of the schedule, make sure you have me time and HOD time. Sorry I won’t make it by later this month, I just couldn’t make the schedule work, I ended up with four meetings that week, two on the west coast and two here in DC.

  4. A very interesting post.
    25 years ago when I was living in London I was offered a paid job in London’s Barbican Theatre in the relatively lowly position of being in charge of programmes and ice creams. It’s one of the great regrets of my entire life that I had to turn it down as the amount I was offered was nowhere near what I needed to allow me to continue living where I was. I regret it because it would have got my foot in the door in the theatre world, something I could only have dreamt of rather than my profession as accountant. If I’d taken it who knows where I could have ended up and risen to – in addition to seeing all those productions of plays featuring the world’s very greatest actors. So, even if your own present volunteer work is at a modest level I can well imagine the satisfaction – and frustration? – you can and are getting out of it – and for that, I really envy you.

      • A.M., if you loaded this aimed for my benefit, then I’m afraid it’s been lost as I’m still without sound :-(. I’ve watched it but can’t recall the lines, though I have seen it before, of course. Anyway, thanks – and it can be enjoyed by every one else apart from me – here’s another 😦

  5. Just to let you know … your witty observations on life are missed!! Hope your schedule frees up somewhat so that you can once again let us know what’s going on in your world.

  6. Pssssttt …. tell us about your trip to PEI … would love to hear your impressions of the Island!

Leave a Reply

